Posted by: gurumel | July 19, 2010

Zazzle!

I thought about joining Zazzle a long time ago, but decided just to stick with Redbubble. Not sure why now…possibly too much work involved. I’ll have to have a look through old posts and see πŸ˜‰

Thanks to the impressive work of Becpuss on there, I’ve now been convinced! Zazzle has a great range of products, and can compliment my Redbubble account, rather than compete with it. I think I was a bit put off by the more complicated upload system at first. It’s like a cross between Redbubble and a microstock site, with more emphasis on categories and keywords. It is a very big site though, with billions of users, so that does make sense, and is the only way to be noticed.

I’ve been keeping up my vector training πŸ˜‰ and have put some shirts up on Redbubble I’m quite proud of – still fairly basic, but I’m getting there. Soon I will master the pen tool! πŸ˜‰

The introduction of stickers on Redbubble has changed my thinking a bit, and I’m now getting into doing vector pieces intended as stickers – it’s good fun, and I may one day be able to afford to buy all of them πŸ˜‰

Zazzle has a massive range of products, but it’s the custom Keds trainers that sold me πŸ™‚ I’m hoping to complete some A-Team Keds soon, mostly because I really want to buy them. The shoes don’t come cheap tbh, but they do look great…can’t wait to see them finished so I can show them off on here πŸ™‚

For now I’ve been uploading some of my shirt designs in other formats; badges, mugs, and some clothes, as well as getting some of my photo’s uploaded as mouse mats, greetings cards and folders.

Tonight I’ve put some time into customising my Zazzle store, mostly to see what is available. I think with some time and effort (and maybe a little help from awesome artist JackBQuik ;)) I could get a really nice looking shop front.

For now, I’m going to keep uploading stuff, and see how I like it. I don’t plan to change my Bubblesite anytime soon, definately plan to stay involved with Redbubble, but Zazzle does seem a better site for selling products, rather than a community for sharing artwork.

So here we are, a quick showcase of some of my new products, and a link to my shiny new Zazzle shop!

Responses

  1. Hello fellow Redbubbler! I just had my Zazzle account deleted for the same reasons: So much hard work with the uploading, front-page display, and then getting money out of them. Too often people will cancel their payments!
    I am not trying to convince you to leave Zazzle, I’m just saying that I love the ease of Redbubble. From uploading through to finance and distribution, the process is so easy!
    I wish you luck with Zazzle, really, and look forward to seeing how you present your work. PS. Great to find a fellow graphic-artist succeeding in their art!

  2. Hi Stephen – thanks for your comment!

    Since I posted this I had a bad zazzle experience! My A Team keds were approved, accidently deleted and then rejected 😦 It’s knocked me a bit, and made me question the accuracy of their approvals system, so not done any new stuff for a while.

    I think I’ll always favour redbubble – it’s definately more of a community, and more photography based, so gets my vote! I will have to go and look you up! πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

